We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Privacy Policy

Skip to main content

Institute of Applied Data Science



IADS Researchers Recognised at the annual Faculty of Science and Engineering Celebration Evening

28 January 2021

Dr Gareth Tyson
Dr Gareth Tyson

On Wednesday 20 January the Queen Mary University of London Faculty of Science and Engineering came together to celebrate staff success at this year's Faculty Celebration Evening.

Over 300 staff joined the meeting to reflect on the achievements and challenges faced throughout last year and congratulate colleagues on their individual and collective successes during this time.

Prizes were awarded to individuals for excellence in the following categories: Research, Innovation, and Internationalisation. This year also saw the introduction of a new award for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI), recognising the importance of EDI to the continuing success of the Faculty.

The event was opened by Professor Wen Wang, Vice-Principal and Executive Dean (Science and Engineering), and also included addresses from President and Principal Professor Colin Bailey, Professor Stephanie Marshall Vice-Principal (Education) and Sheila Gupta MBE Vice-Principal (People, Culture and Inclusion).

Commenting on the event, Professor Wen Wang, Vice-Principal and Executive Dean (Science and Engineering), said: "We are immensely proud of the achievements in Science and Engineering last year. I would like to thank everyone for your exceptional contributions in supporting our students and pushing forward our research over a very difficult and demanding year. By working together and supporting each other, we can overcome challenges ahead of us, whatever they are."

Due to the exceptional work from all across the Faculty to adapt to the changes brought by the coronavirus pandemic it was decided that unlike previous years, there would be no individual prizes in Education and for professional and technical services.

In their speeches, Dean for Education, Professor Tony Michael and Faculty Operating Officer, Anne Parry, highlighted the incredible achievements of staff across all schools during a challenging year.

Anne Parry said: "For these categories it was impossible to identify just a handful of staff to mention individually. You have all handled an incredibly difficult year and responded to the challenges you faced with collegiality, innovation and a commitment to provide your level best to our University."

"We are proud to represent you and wish to thank every one of you for your contributions to the Faculty in the past year and hope to be able to celebrate with you all in person this time next year."

Award Winners

The list of individual winners for the awards can be found below:

Faculty Research Excellence Award 2021

Dr Alex de Mendoza (SBCS)
Dr Ana Sobrido (SEMS)
Dr Joe Briscoe (SEMS)
Dr Tessa Baker (SPA)
Dr Phil Bull (SPA, IADS academic)
Dr Gareth Tyson (EECS, Deputy Director of IADS)

Faculty Award for Internationalisation

Professor Andy Bushby (SEMS)
Dr Iwan Jones (SBCS)
Dr Marie-Luce Bourget (EECS)

QMI Innovation Award 2021

Professor Bill Gillin (SPA) and Dr Peter Wyatt (SBCS)

Faculty Award for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Dr Costis Papageorgakis (SPA)
Dr Anna Pachol (SBCS)