Close

A note on cookies

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. If you want to find out more see our Privacy Policy

Skip to main content
Queen Mary University of London
Institute of Applied Data Science
People menu

People

Academics

Gianni  Antichi

Dr Gianni  Antichi

Lecturer & Turing Fellow
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone 02078827861
Email g.antichi@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Datacenter networks, Artificial Intelligence, Network monitoring, Performance characterisation, Software Defined Networking
Sebastian Axbard

Dr Sebastian Axbard

Lecturer of Economics & Turing Fellow
Department Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Telephone +44 20 7882 8833
Email s.axbard@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Development Economics, Political Economy, Natural Resource Economics, Applied Econometrics, Economic Sanction Avoidance
Adriano  Barbosa

Dr Adriano  Barbosa

UKRI Rutherford Fund Innovation Fellow / Lecturer
Department Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Telephone +44 (0) 2078 822 105
Email adriano.barbosa@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Health Data Science, Transcriptomics Data Analysis, Multi-modal Data Integration, Literature Mining, Semantic Bioinformatics
Emmanouil Benetos

Dr Emmanouil Benetos

Senior Lecturer & Turing Fellow
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6206 
Email emmanouil.benetos@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Computational audio, Machine learning for sequential data, Digital signal processing
Adam Brentnall

Dr Adam Brentnall

Senior Statistician, Centre for Cancer Prevention & Turing Fellow
Department Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Telephone 020 7882 3531
Email a.brentnall@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Biostatistics, Statistical models for cancer risk, Risk modelling for cancer, Statistical methods for non-compliance in clinical trial, Classification and discrimination
Phil Bull

Dr Phil Bull

Lecturer in Cosmology
Telephone 0207 882 7488
Email p.bull@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Theory and observations of large-scale structures, General relativistic effects, CBM
Ignacio Castro

Dr Ignacio Castro

Lecturer in Data Analytics
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Email i.castro@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Network economics, Internet measurements
Jun Chen

Dr Jun Chen

Senior Lecturer in Engineering Science & Turing Fellow
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone Tel +44 (0)20 7882 8873
Email jun.chen@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Aerospace Engineering, Fluid Mechanics, Operations Research (OR)
Anthony Constantinou

Dr Anthony Constantinou

Senior Lecturer & Turing Fellow
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone http://www.constantinou.info
Email a.constantinou@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Bayesian Artificial Intelligence, uncertainty quantification for optimal real-world decision making, Intelligent Games and Game Intelligence
Felix Cuadrado

Dr Felix Cuadrado

Senior Lecturer & Turing Fellow
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 20 7882 5819
Email felix.cuadrado@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Data-centric solutions, Cloud computing, Big data computing, Autonomic computing
Kit Curtius

Dr Kit Curtius

MRC Rutherford Research Fellow
Department Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Telephone 020 7882 6538
Email k.curtius@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Gastrointestinal cancer prevention, Mathematical models of inflammatory bowel disease, Optimal cancer screening, Bioinformatics using Big Data, Stochastic modelling
Pedro Cutillas

Dr Pedro Cutillas

Reader in Cell Signalling and Proteomics & Turing Fellow
Department Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Telephone +44 20 7882 3821
Email p.cutillas@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Cell signalling pathways, Extracellular signals, Artificial Intelligence, Signalling heterogeneity in cancer
Viji M. Draviam

Professor Viji M. Draviam

Professor of Quantitative Cell and Molecular Biology and Director of Industrial Innovation / 
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5020
Email v.draviam@qmul.ac.uk
Ildar Farkhatdinov

Dr Ildar Farkhatdinov

Lecturer in Robotics & Turing Fellow
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 20 7882 7824
Email i.farkhatdinov@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Human-machine interaction, Robot design and control, Human sensorimotor control, Virtual reality
Mark Freestone

Dr Mark Freestone

Senior Lecturer, Centre for Psychiatry & Turing Fellow
Department Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Telephone +44 (0) 20 3465 6942
Email m.c.freestone@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Generation and evaluation of Bayesian Networks, Evaluation of Psychologically Informed Planned Environments, Artificial Intelligence, Adult antisocial syndrome
Frank Förster

Dr Frank Förster

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 20 7882 7138
Email f.p.foerster@qmul.ac.uk
Zafar Gilani

Dr Zafar Gilani

Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Email z.gilani@qmul.ac.uk
Kathrin Glau

Dr Kathrin Glau

Lecturer in Financial Mathematics & Turing Fellow
Department School of Mathematical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 2760
Email k.glau@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Computational methods for finance, Modelling of financial asset evolution, Numerical Analysis
Sean Gong

Professor Sean Gong

Professor of Visual Computation & Turing Fellow
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone Tel: +44 (0)20-7882 5249
Email s.gong@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords domain transfer learning, distance metric learning, zero-shot learning, scalable algorithms, analytics capabilities
Pat Healey

Professor Pat Healey

Professor of Human Interaction & Turing Fellow
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Email p.healey@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords models of human communication, communicative actions, theories of interaction
Julian Hough

Dr Julian Hough

Lecturer & Turing Fellow
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone CS 414
Email j.hough@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords artificial systems, Artificial Intelligence, incremental processing, interactive responsiveness
Lorenzo Jamone

Dr Lorenzo Jamone

Lecturer in Robotics & Turing Fellow
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone Tel +44 (0)20 7882 7825
Email l.jamone@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Artificial Intelligence, Robotics Engineering, software engineering, tactile/force sensing
Lucas Lacasa

Dr Lucas Lacasa

Reader in Applied Mathematics & EPSRC Early Career Fellow
Department School of Mathematical Sciences
Email l.lacasa@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords complex systems, visibility graph theory, phase transitions, critical phenomena and self-organized criticality, applied nonlinear dynamics and chaos
Vito Latora

Professor Vito Latora

Professor of Applied Mathematics & Turing Fellow
Department School of Mathematical Sciences
Telephone 020 7882 5199
Email v.latora@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Applied Mathematics, efficiency, centrality, motifs, community structures
Maria Liakata

Professor Maria Liakata

Professor and AI Fellow at the Turing Institute
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Email m.liakata@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Natural Language Processing, Time Sensitive Sensors, Language sensing for dementia monitoring & diagnosis, computational semantics, scientific discourse analysis.
Emily Lines

Dr Emily Lines

Lecturer in Environmental Science
Department Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6170
Email e.lines@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords terrestrial ecosystems, forest ecology and biogeography, remote sensing data, environmental controls
Simon Lucas

Professor Simon Lucas

Professor and Head of School & Turing Fellow
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone Tel +44 20 7882 5989
Email simon.lucas@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Game AI Research, reinforcement learning, evolutionary algorithms, combinatorial bandit algorithms
John Moriarty

Professor John Moriarty

Professor of Mathematics
Department School of Mathematical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 2953
Email j.moriarty@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords applied probability, real options analysis, applications in energy
Martin Neil

Professor Martin Neil

Professor of Computer Science and Statistics & Turing Fellow
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone Tel: +44 (0)20 7882 3400 
Email m.neil@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords intelligent risk assessment, decision analysis, Bayesian statistical methods, probability, project risk
Magda Osman

Dr Magda Osman

Reader in Experimental Psychology & Turing Fellow
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5903
Email m.osman@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords decision making, problem solving in complex dynamic environments, safety critical systems, moral behavior
Panos Panagiotopoulos

Dr Panos Panagiotopoulos

Senior Lecturer in Information Management & Turing Fellow
Department Business Development
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6611
Email p.panagiotopoulos@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords digital governance, media research and new forms of data.
Ioannis Patras

Prof Ioannis Patras

Professor in Computer Vision and Human Sensing
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 20 7882 7523
Email i.patras@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Machine Learning, Computer Vision, Signal Processing, neuro-physiological signals, Sensing
Steffen Petersen

Professor Steffen Petersen

Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine & Turing Fellow
Department Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Telephone +44(0) 207 882 6902
Email s.e.petersen@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords cardiovascular magnetic resonance (CMR), cost-effectiveness analysis related to cardiac imaging, electronic health record research, radiomics and machine learning
Massimo Poesio

Professor Massimo Poesio

Professor of Computational Linguistics & Turing Fellow
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 20 7882 5773
Email m.poesio@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Natural Language Processing, machine translation, visually grounded and textual semantic models
Prabhakar Rajan

Dr Prabhakar Rajan

Clinical Senior Lecturer in Urology & Turing Fellow
Department Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5555
Email p.rajan@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords RNA-binding proteins, primary prostate tumours, population-based analyses in diagnostics
Eram Rizvi

Dr Eram Rizvi

Deputy Dean for Research (PGR) & Turing Fellow
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone 020 7882 6548
Email e.rizvi@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Data Science and AI in Fundamental Physics, quark & anti-quark annihilation to W and Z bosons, quantum gravity
John Robson

Dr John Robson

Clinical Reader in Primary Care Research & Development & Turing Fellow
Department Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
Telephone 020 7882 2479
Email j.robson@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords cardiovascular disease, diabetes, COPD, reducing self-monitoring of blood glucose in type 2
Mark Sandler

Professor Mark Sandler

Professor of Signal Processing & Turing Fellow
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone  +44 20 7882 7680
Email mark.sandler@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Music Data Science, Digital Signal Processing, Semantic Web for Music and Audio, Digital Power Amplifiers, Fine Grain Scalable Audio Coding
Alex  Shestopaloff

Dr Alex  Shestopaloff

Lecturer
Department School of Mathematical Sciences
Email ashestopaloff@turing.ac.uk
Keywords Markov Chain Monte Carlo (MCMC) methods, Bayesian inference in complex stochastic models, Statistical Science
Primoz Skraba

Dr Primoz Skraba

Senior Lecturer in Applied and Computational Topology & Turing Fellow
Department School of Mathematical Sciences
Telephone Tel: +44 (0)20 7882 5440
Email primoz.skraba@ijs.si
Keywords Artificial Intelligence, Computational mathematics, topological data analysis
Fabrizio Smeraldi

Dr Fabrizio Smeraldi

Lecturer in Risk and Information Management & Turing Fellow
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 20 7882 5167
Email f.smeraldi@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Applications of Machine Learning, Pattern Recognition, Bioinformatics, Foundational aspects of computing
Dan Stowell

Dr Dan Stowell

Lecturer & Turing Fellow
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone  +44 20 7882 3066
Email dan.stowell@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Structured machine listening for soundscapes with multiple birds, Automatic acoustic detection of birds, machine listening, point process models
Steve  Uhlig

Professor Steve  Uhlig

Professor of Networks & Turing Fellow
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone  +44 (0)20 7882 5823
Email steve.uhlig@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords internet measurements, software-defined networking, data centric engineering, large-scale network measurements, network engineering
Elisabetta Versace

Dr Elisabetta Versace

Lecturer in Psychology & Turing Fellow
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 20 7882 8798
Email e.versace@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Artificial Intelligence, animal research, artificial intelligence and robotics
John Woodward

Dr John Woodward

Senior Lecturer and Head of Operational Research Group
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 20 7882 5813
Email j.woodward@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Hyper-Heuristics, Evolutionary Algorithms, Search Based Software Engineering, Genetic Programming, Operations Research
Yannick Wurm

Dr Yannick Wurm

Reader in Bioinformatics & Turing Fellow
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3049
Email y.wurm@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Evolutionary genomics of social insects, Genomics & Bioinformatics, BLAST (bionformatics tool)